About The CFA® Exam

All You Need To Know About The CFA® Exam.
The CFA® Program prepares you for a three-part exam, designed to demonstrate your investment decision-making abilities.

CFA Exam Overview


To earn the CFA® Charter, you need to pass all three exam levels (Level I, Level II and Level III).

Each of these exams focuses on different topics going from basic knowledge of investment tools, analysis with application of investment tools to concepts of analytic methods and much more.

Each level of exam takes around 300 hours to prepare. 

Find out more about each exam level and their key topics:

Earn Your Charter


Here is the list of requirements you need to meet


One of the following must be met:

  • Have a bachelor’s degree or equivalent

  • Or have the exam date scheduled 23 months or fewer before your graduation month for your bachelor's degree

  • Or have 4 years of relevant work experience

  • Or have a combination of professional work and university experience that totals at least four years.


Must have 4 years of professional work experience in the investment decision making process (accrued before, during, or after the CFA® Program).


Pass the three-level exam administered by CFA Institute with Level I, II and III offered annually in February, May, August & November.


  • Pledge to adhere to CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct

  • Join CFA Institute as a regular member.

Need more info on CFA Exam?